Left Coast Crime 2021

Home   Registration   Schedule   Book Room   Hotel/Travel   Awards   Newsletters   Charity/Auction   Sponsors
About LCC   Attendees   Panels   Connections   Albuquerque   Volunteering   Committee   Sleuths Shirts   Advertising

Lefty Awards

The Left Coast Crime “Lefty” Awards are fan awards chosen by registered members of the Left Coast Crime convention. Nominations for awards to be presented at each annual convention are made by people registered for that convention and also the immediately prior convention. A ballot listing the official nominees is given to each registrant when they check in at the convention, and final voting takes place at the convention. The ballots are tabulated and that year’s Lefty Awards are presented at the Awards Celebration.

Left Coast Crime 2021 will be presenting four Lefty Awards at the 31st annual LCC convention in Albuquerque, New Mexico. The Lefty awards will be voted on at the convention and presented at the Awards Banquet on Saturday, April 10, 2021, at the Hyatt Regency Albuquerque.

Registrants of the 2020 and 2021 Left Coast Crime Conventions will be able to nominate three titles in each category. Nominations will be accepted between January 1 and January 17, 2021, for the four 2021 Lefty Awards.

2021 Lefty Awards
   ◉  Best Mystery Novel
   ◉  Best Debut Mystery Novel
   ◉  Best Humorous Mystery Novel
   ◉  Best Historical Mystery Novel (The Bruce Alexander Memorial), covering events before 1970

To be eligible, titles must have been published for the first time in the United States or Canada during 2020, in book or ebook format. (If published in other countries before 2020, a book is still eligible if it meets the US or Canadian publication requirement.)

Nomination forms will be emailed to all 2020 and 2021 LCC registrants by January 1, 2021. Only nominations received by January 17th will be tabulated. The Lefty Award nominees will be announced on January 18, 2021. Final voting will be by paper ballot at the convention in Albuquerque.

Email Awards Co-Chairs Lucinda Surber & Stan Ulrich with questions about the Left Coast Crime Awards.

History of the Left Coast Crime Awards