Seattle Shakedown

Home   Registration   Hotel/Travel   Schedule   Awards   Book Room   Newsletters   Charity/Auction   Sponsors
About LCC   Attendees   Seattle   Panels   Connections   Volunteering   Committee   Side Trips   Advertising

Lefty Awards

The Left Coast Crime “Lefty” Awards are fan awards chosen by registered members of the Left Coast Crime conventions since 1996. Nominations for awards to be presented at each annual convention are made by people registered for that convention and also the immediately prior convention. A ballot listing the official nominees is given to each registrant when they check in at the convention, and final voting takes place at the convention. The ballots are tabulated and that year’s Lefty Awards are presented at the Awards Celebration.

2024 Lefty Awards
Left Coast Crime 2024 — Seattle Shakedown — will be presenting four Lefty Awards at the convention in Bellevue, Washington. Registrants of the Left Coast Crime Conventions in Seattle and Tucson will be able to nominate three titles in each category. The 2024 Lefty awards will be voted on at the convention and presented at the Awards Banquet.
  Best Humorous Mystery Novel
  Best Historical Mystery Novel for books covering events before 1970 (the Bill Gottfried Memorial )
  Best Mystery Novel
  Best Debut Mystery Novel

To be eligible for the 2024 Lefty Awards, titles must have been published for the first time in the United States or Canada during 2023, in book or ebook format. (If published in other countries before 2023, a book is still eligible if it meets the US or Canadian publication requirement.)

Questions about the Lefty Awards? Email Awards Co-Chairs Lucinda Surber and Stan Ulrich

History of the Left Coast Crime Awards