Left Coast Crime 2018

2018 Lefty Awards

The Left Coast Crime “Lefty” Awards are fan awards chosen by registered members of the Left Coast Crime convention. Nominations for awards to be presented at each annual convention are made by people registered for that convention and also the immediately prior convention. A ballot listing the official nominees is given to each registrant when they check in at the convention, and final voting takes place at the convention. The ballots are tabulated and that year’s Lefty Awards are presented at the Awards Celebration.

Left Coast Crime 2018 presented four Lefty Awards at the 28th annual LCC convention in Reno, Nevada, at the Awards Banquet on Saturday, March 24, 2018, at the Nugget Casino Resort. Award winners in red below.

Lefty for Best Humorous Mystery Novel
  • Donna Andrews, Gone Gull (Minotaur Books)
  Ellen Byron, A Cajun Christmas Killing (Crooked Lane Books)
  • Marla Cooper, Dying on the Vine (Minotaur Books)
  • Cynthia Kuhn, The Art of Vanishing (Henery Press)
  • Cindy Sample, Dying for a Diamond (Cindy Sample Books)

Lefty for Best Historical Mystery Novel (Bruce Alexander Memorial)
for books covering events before 1960
  Rhys Bowen, In Farleigh Field (Lake Union Publishing)
  • Jennifer Kincheloe, The Woman in the Camphor Trunk (Seventh Street Books)
  • Renee Patrick, Dangerous To Know (Forge)
  • Priscilla Royal, The Proud Sinner (Poisoned Pen Press)
  • Jeri Westerson, Season of Blood (Severn House Publishers)

Lefty for Best Debut Mystery Novel
  • Susan Alice Bickford, A Short Time To Die (Kensington)
  Kellye Garrett, Hollywood Homicide (Midnight Ink)
  • Wendall Thomas, Lost Luggage (Poisoned Pen Press)
  • Nancy Tingley, A Head in Cambodia (Swallow Press)
  • Kathleen Valenti, Protocol (Henery Press)

Lefty for Best Mystery Novel
  • Matt Coyle, Blood Truth (Oceanview Publishing)
  William Kent Krueger, Sulfur Springs (Atria Books)
  • Louise Penny, Glass Houses (Minotaur Books)
  • Terry Shames, An Unsettling Crime for Samuel Craddock (Seventh Street Books)
  • James W. Ziskin, Cast the First Stone (Seventh Street Books)

To be eligible, titles must have been published for the first time in the United States or Canada during 2017, in book or ebook format. (If published in other countries before 2017, a book is still eligible if it meets the US or Canadian publication requirement.)

Email Awards Co-Chairs Lucinda Surber & Stan Ulrich with questions about the Left Coast Crime Awards.

History of the Left Coast Crime Awards

Contact WebMaster
Copyright © 2016-2018 Left Coast Crime 2018: Crime on the Comstock