All Points Bulletin
Forensic Science Day
Guests of Honor
Authors Corner
Book Room
Press Release
20 Ways to Celebrate
Sporting Events
Future LCC's

Visit the Home Page of:




Our chairman, Paul Anik, passed away in January 2009.  LCC 2010 is dedicated to his memory.








     Experience LA



What is Left Coast Crime?

The "Left Coast Crime Convention," the "Western Regional Mystery Conference" hereto referred to as "LCC," is an event sponsored by fans of Mystery Literature, for fans of Mystery Literature.  LCC is an annual convention.  The intent is to provide an event where fans of the Mystery genre can gather in convivial surroundings to pursue their interest in the genre.

Does the convention pay an honorarium?


Can I come without registering?


What's your refund policy?

If you cancel before September 15, 2009, you will receive a refund of $150.

If you cancel September 16, 2009 through January 15, 2010, you will receive a refund of $90.  If you cancel after January 15, 2010, there will be no refund.

Registrations are non-transferable.

Why do I have to pay $5.00 extra to use PayPal?

This is a fee PayPal collects for using their service.

How can I get on a panel?

Register for the convention, and then volunteer to be an a panel.  This is not a guarantee you'll be on a panel, but it is the starting point.

What's a published author?

Anyone whose books are published by a firm that pays standard advances and royalties is qualified to be listed as an author at Left Coast Crime.  Active members of the Mystery Writers of America are automatically accepted as authors but anyone who is not an MWA member but who meets their requirements is an author.  This includes anyone who has ever been published by an accepted publisher regardless of their current situation.  Authors from publishers who do not meet the MWA's years in business or number of titles rule but who do pay advances and standard royalties are accepted by Left Coast Crime on a provisional basis but must submit an affidavit (including a standard contract) attesting to that fact.  Only authors who have contributed financially to the publication of all of their books either through self-publishing or through a vanity or subsidy press are not eligible unless they have been shortlisted for a major mystery award (the Edgar, the Anthony, the Agatha, the Dilys, the Barry, the Hammett, the Macavity, the Lefty, the Nero Wolfe, the CWA Dagger, the Shamus, the Arthur Ellis, and the Bruce Alexander Awards).  Non-American writers without U.S. publishers who meet the above requirements or who are active members in their national mystery writer associations also qualify.

Can I join at the door?

Yes, see registration page for day pass rates.

What are the awards and how does a book get nominated?

The Lefty, an award for the best humorous mystery, is to be awarded at each Left Coast Crime.  Books eligible for the award must have been published for the first time in the United States in the calendar year preceding the convention.  Books which appeared in other countries in earlier years are still eligible as long as they meet the American publication requirement.  Nominations are to be solicited from registered members of the convention beginning on January 1 of the year in which the convention is held.  The short list shall consist of the five books receiving the most nominations.  All registered members of the convention are eligible to vote.  Final balloting and tabulation shall be conducted at Left Coast Crime with the winner announced during the convention, preferably at the banquet.  The physical properties of the award are left to the discretion of each host Left Coast Crime committee.

Furthermore, up to three other awards may be awarded at the discretion of individual Left Coast Crime conventions in categories to be chosen by the current organizing committee.  Subsequent committees may but are not required to continue any of these awards.

Left Coast Crime 2010 is dedicated to the memory of Paul Anik, the chairman of the organizing committee, who passed away in January 2009.  A special award called The PANIK (for best Los Angeles noir mystery published in 2009) will be presented in his honor at Left Coast Crime 2010.

The Bruce Alexander Memorial Historical Mystery, a historical mystery, covering events before 1950 will also be awarded.

When is the awards banquet?

Saturday Night.

Is the awards banquet included in registration?


What is the dress for the awards banquet?

Business/dressy casual -- not shorts but not black tie.

Where can I send auction items?

Beverly Docktor, 38910 30th Street East, Palmdale, CA 93550

How do I get a parking voucher?

Parking vouchers will be sold, cash or check only, at the registration desk during the convention.  If one is using a parking voucher, there is no in and out.  If one is paying the full $30 per day to park, one can come and go as often as one chooses.  Registration will be open every day.  On Thursday, it will be open 1-5. On Friday it will be open 8-5.  On Saturday it will be open 8-5.  Sunday hours are still to be determined.

How can I send my goodies home?

Packing and shipping will be available on-site by Box Brothers, they can be contacted regarding costs and details.