Left Coast Crime 2022

Home   Registration   Schedule   Connections   Book Room   Hotel/Travel   Awards   Newsletters   Charity/Auction   Sponsors
About LCC   Attendees   Panels   Workshop   Volunteering   Albuquerque   Side Trips   Committee   Sleuths Shirts   Advertising

Lefty Awards

The Left Coast Crime “Lefty” Awards are fan awards chosen by registered members of the Left Coast Crime convention. Nominations for awards to be presented at each annual convention are made by people registered for that convention and also the immediately prior convention. A ballot listing the official nominees is given to each registrant when they check in at the convention, and final voting takes place at the convention. The ballots are tabulated and that year’s Lefty Awards are presented at the Awards Celebration.

2022 Lefty Awards: Albuquerque, New Mexico

Left Coast Crime 2022 — Southwest Sleuths — will be presenting four Lefty Awards at the rescheduled convention in Albuquerque, New Mexico. Registrants of the Left Coast Crime Conventions in San Diego and Albuquerque will be able to nominate three titles in each category. The 2022 Lefty awards will be voted on at the convention and presented at the Awards Banquet on Saturday, April 9, 2022, at the Hyatt Regency Albuquerque.

The categories are
   ◉  Best Mystery Novel
   ◉  Best Debut Mystery Novel
   ◉  Best Humorous Mystery Novel
   ◉  Best Historical Mystery Novel (The Bruce Alexander Memorial), covering events before 1970

Registrants of the San Diego and Albuquerque Left Coast Crime Conventions will be able to nominate three titles in each category. Nominations will be accepted between January 1 and January 16, 2022, for the four 2022 Lefty Awards.

Nomination forms will be emailed to all eligible LCC registrants by January 1, 2022. Only nominations received by January 16th will be tabulated. The Lefty Award nominees will be announced on January 17, 2022. Final voting will be by paper ballot at the convention in Albuquerque.

To be eligible for the 2022 Lefty Awards, titles must have been published for the first time in the United States or Canada during 2021, in book or ebook format. (If published in other countries before 2021, a book is still eligible if it meets the US or Canadian publication requirement.)

Questions about the Lefty Awards? Email Awards Co-Chairs Lucinda Surber and Stan Ulrich

History of the Left Coast Crime Awards